I know, I know–just spend the $0.79 for the package from the grocery store ($0.59 if you get the store brand). But in my ever-increasing aversion to overly processed food, I just can’t get past the ingredient list–MSG is one of the most benign-sounding ingredients. Plus, I picked up 20lbs of jasmine rice last summer at Sam’s.

  • 1/2 an onion, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp saffron threads crushed (measure THEN crush!)
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1 cup long-grain rice
  • 2 cups water
  • salt, to taste

Sautee the onion and garlic over medium in olive oil until soft and translucent, then add the spices and rice and sautee for a couple of minutes more. While the spices sautee, nuke the 2 cups of water to bring at or near the boil. Stir in the water, cover and reduce heat to low for 15 to 20 minutes or until all the water is absorbed. Add salt as needed.

