eggplant with peppers & feta

Originally uploaded by ted_major

I’ve never liked eggplant. The flavor is just, well, unpleasant. However, we’ve been getting regular distributions of eggplant in our CSA distribution, so I thought I’d give it another try. I found a recipe on Epicurious that I slightly adapted to fit the ingredients on hand to make eggplant with peppers & feta. The toppings were great, but underneath it was still . . . eggplant. This would be pretty good, if you like that sort of thing. Me, not so much.

1 eggplant, sliced into 3/4″ (19mm) rounds
Olive oil to saute
1 tsp capers
6 Kalamata olives, chopped
2 oz feta cheese
1 sweet pepper, sliced into rings

Saute the eggplant over medium heat, then place on a baking sheet. Top each slice with a pepper ring, a couple of capers, a pinch of chopped olives, and some feta. Broil until the cheese is melted and starts to brown.

